This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Laos

Laos is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Laos. Information on all primary administrative regions in Laos.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Laos alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Laos

There are 17 regions in Laos in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Laos
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Attapu Attapu1.114,300Attapu Attapu4,297
Bokeo Province Khouèng Bokèo2.149,700Ban Houayxay Ban Houayxay12,500
Bolikhamsai Province Bolikhamxai3.214,900Muang Pakxan Muang Pakxan21,967
Champasak Champasak4.575,600Pakxe Pakxé88,332
Houaphan Houaphan5.286,383Xam Nua Xam Nua38,992
Khammouan Khammouan6.358,800Thakhek Thakhèk26,200
Louangphabang Luang Prabang Province7.407,012Luang Prabang Luang Prabang47,378
Loungnamtha Louangnamtha8.150,100Louang Namtha Louang Namtha3,225
Oudomxai Khouèng Oudômxai9.275,300Muang Xay Muang Xay25,000
Phongsali Khouèng Phôngsali10.199,900Phongsali Phôngsali13,500
Salavan Salavan11.336,600Salavan Salavan5,521
Savannahkhet Khouèng Savannakhét12.769,177Savannakhet Savannakhét66,553
Vientiane Vientiane Province13.388,833Muang Phon-Hong Muang Phôn-Hông10,112
Vientiane Vientiane Prefecture14.698,254Vientiane Vientiane196,731
Xekong Khouèng Xékong15.83,600Lamam Lamam4,463
Xiagnabouli Xaignabouli16.382,200Sainyabuli Sainyabuli13,500
Xiangkhoang Xiangkhouang17.37,507Muang Phonsavan Muang Phônsavan37,507