This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Laos

Laos is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Laos. Information on all primary administrative regions in Laos.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Laos alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Laos

There are 17 regions in Laos in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Laos
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Attapu Attapu1.114,300Attapu Attapu4,297
Bokeo Province Khouèng Bokèo2.149,700Ban Houayxay Ban Houayxay12,500
Xekong Khouèng Xékong3.83,600Lamam Lamam4,463
Loungnamtha Louangnamtha4.150,100Louang Namtha Louang Namtha3,225
Louangphabang Luang Prabang Province5.407,012Luang Prabang Luang Prabang47,378
Bolikhamsai Province Bolikhamxai6.214,900Muang Pakxan Muang Pakxan21,967
Vientiane Vientiane Province7.388,833Muang Phon-Hong Muang Phôn-Hông10,112
Xiangkhoang Xiangkhouang8.37,507Muang Phonsavan Muang Phônsavan37,507
Oudomxai Khouèng Oudômxai9.275,300Muang Xay Muang Xay25,000
Champasak Champasak10.575,600Pakxe Pakxé88,332
Phongsali Khouèng Phôngsali11.199,900Phongsali Phôngsali13,500
Xiagnabouli Xaignabouli12.382,200Sainyabuli Sainyabuli13,500
Salavan Salavan13.336,600Salavan Salavan5,521
Savannahkhet Khouèng Savannakhét14.769,177Savannakhet Savannakhét66,553
Khammouan Khammouan15.358,800Thakhek Thakhèk26,200
Vientiane Vientiane Prefecture16.698,254Vientiane Vientiane196,731
Houaphan Houaphan17.286,383Xam Nua Xam Nua38,992