This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Laos

Laos is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Laos. Information on all primary administrative regions in Laos.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Laos alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Laos

There are 17 regions in Laos in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Laos
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Savannahkhet Khouèng Savannakhét1.769,177Savannakhet Savannakhét66,553
Vientiane Vientiane Prefecture2.698,254Vientiane Vientiane196,731
Champasak Champasak3.575,600Pakxe Pakxé88,332
Louangphabang Luang Prabang Province4.407,012Luang Prabang Luang Prabang47,378
Vientiane Vientiane Province5.388,833Muang Phon-Hong Muang Phôn-Hông10,112
Xiagnabouli Xaignabouli6.382,200Sainyabuli Sainyabuli13,500
Khammouan Khammouan7.358,800Thakhek Thakhèk26,200
Salavan Salavan8.336,600Salavan Salavan5,521
Houaphan Houaphan9.286,383Xam Nua Xam Nua38,992
Oudomxai Khouèng Oudômxai10.275,300Muang Xay Muang Xay25,000
Bolikhamsai Province Bolikhamxai11.214,900Muang Pakxan Muang Pakxan21,967
Phongsali Khouèng Phôngsali12.199,900Phongsali Phôngsali13,500
Loungnamtha Louangnamtha13.150,100Louang Namtha Louang Namtha3,225
Bokeo Province Khouèng Bokèo14.149,700Ban Houayxay Ban Houayxay12,500
Attapu Attapu15.114,300Attapu Attapu4,297
Xekong Khouèng Xékong16.83,600Lamam Lamam4,463
Xiangkhoang Xiangkhouang17.37,507Muang Phonsavan Muang Phônsavan37,507